Thursday, December 2, 2010

Women’s World Chess Championship 2010 Hatay Turkey

image2 December 2010, Kuala Lumpur – The Women’s World Chess Championship 2010 will be taking place in Hatay, Turkey from 3rd December Alexandria Kosteniuk- WGM 2010 till 24th December 2010. GM Alexander Kosteniuk (pix left) will be defending her world title that she won in 2008, Nalchik, Russia.

Kateryna Lahno-Ukraine Sixty four of the world’s best women chess players throughout the world will be participating. Among them will be Hou Yifan, the losing finalist in 2008, Koneru Humpy, Tatiana Kosentsiva, Kateryna Lahno (pix left), Viktorija Cmilyte, Arianne Caoili, Nafisa Muminova, Zhu Chen, Sebag Marie, Anna Zatonskih, Lilit Mkrtchian (pix left below), Antoaneta Stefanova and many others.

Lilit Mkrtchian
The Championship will be held using electronic clocks. There shall be five rounds of knock-out matches, with the winners progressing to the next round. The 6th round (final round) shall be played to determine the women's world champion.

The time control shall be 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an increment of 30 seconds per move from move one.

To read more, please visit or click here.
Or at Susan Polgar’s blog or click here.

Official website:

First round pairings are shown below:-


No comments:

Post a Comment