Sunday, December 19, 2010

Five In Final Playoffs, Zhou Ren Declared Champion National Jr 2010

image 19 December 2010, Kuala Lumpur – At the National Junior Chess Championship 2010, drama is unfolding. Five players are in the final playoffs as they are all tied at 7.0 pts each. Mark Siew, M Syakir Shazmeer (pix left), Lim Zhuo Ren, Wong Jianwen, Subramaniam Sumant are in the double round robin playoffs at the OCM Building in Kuala Lumpur.

The format of this DRR is each player must get 1.5 pts minimum to earn 1 Match Point (MP). The time control for this is 15 minutes plus 10 second incremental.

Latest news is that Lim Zhou Ren and Wong Jian Wen both earned 2 MP. While Mark Siew, Sumant and Syakir had 1 MP after playing three games each.

To decide the winner for the title of National Junior Chess Champion 2010 an armageddon blitz was held between Lim Zhou Ren and Wong Jian Wen. After a toss of coin, Lim Zhou Ren had to play white with 5 minutes of play and Wong Jian Wen with 4 minutes of play as black. In Armageddon, white must win the game while black needs only a draw to win.

imageIn the end, Lim Zhou Ren (pix left) prevailed as he won the blitz as white and was declared the new National Junior Chess Champion 2010 beating 72 others who had entered the open chess event over 5 days of play.

Congrats to Lim Zhou Ren, the new National Junior Chess Champion 2010!





(source: Marcus Yeoh, arbiter of NJCC 2010)

No comments:

Post a Comment