Saturday, May 19, 2012

Asian Nations Cup Team Championship Rd. 1

Sheikh Sultan bin Khalifah Al Nahyan 19 May 2012, Kuala Lumpur - Casto Abundo reports on the ongoing Asian Nations Cup team championships in Zao Zhuang, China.

Sheikh Sultan opened his speech: "We are pleased to have with us many of the strongest countries in Asia including defending champion India."

Fourteen teams from 13 countries are competing in the 9-round Swiss Open, namely (by seeding) China 1, India, Vietnam, China2, Kazakhstan, Iran, Singapore, Mongolia, Iraq, Yemen, Korea, Indonesia, Hong Kong and Chinese Taipei.

Ten teams from 9 countries are competing in the 9-round Round Robin Women's section, namely (by seeding) China 1, India, China 2, Vietnam, Iran, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, China 3, Indonesia, Singapore.

The three Chinese women's teams play each other in the first 3 rounds and China 3 does not win trophies

imageSeeded teams won as expected in the first round:

Men's: India beat Yemen 4:0 to set the pace. China-1 blanked Iraq 4:0, Vietnam shutout Korea 4:0, Iran beat Hong Kong 4:0 and Singapore blanked Chinese Taipei 4:0. China 2 was held to a draw by Mongolia while Kazakhstan beat Indonesia 3:1.

Women’s: China 1 blanked China 3 with 4:0. China 2 beat India 3:1. Kazakhstan edged Singapore 2½-1½. Iran beat Vietnam 2½-1½. Mongolia drew 2:2 with Indonesia.

Here is a round 3 game between Wang Hao of China and Sasikiran Krishnan of India during the Asian Nations Chess Team Championship 2012 in Zao Zhuang, China.

Downbload PGN file

Download games in pgn file for Round 1.

Replay Live Games

Replay and follow top board games live at the official site for Men and Women.

Results and Standings

Visit for round by round results and final standings.

(Editor: Casto Abundo  Photos by Mehrdad Pahlevanzadeh)

No comments:

Post a Comment