Thursday, September 22, 2011

Upcoming European Club Cup 2011 in Slovenia

image 22 September 2011, Kuala Lumpur – reported that the 27th European Club Cup will run from 24 September - 2 October in Rogaška Slatina in Slovenia.

65 teams will be competing for the European Club title, team prizes, and individual prizes.

Participating clubs must be affiliated to the European Chess Union to take part, but their team members can hail from anywhere the world.

Team SOCAR Azerbaijan are the top seeds (Alexander Grischuk, Emil Sutovsky, Andrei Volotkin, Rustam Kasimdzhanov, Teimour Radjabov, Eltaj Safarli, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Rauf Mamedov).

2010 champions Economist Saratov will be defending their title. A full list of all the teams and their players can be found at the official website.

A separate women's competition will also take place, with 12 teams taking part headed byCercle d'Echecs de Monte-Carlo (Hou Yifan, Anna Muzychuk, Pia Cramling, Monika Socko, Almira Skripchenko). 

The format is a 7-round Swiss event. The tournament schedule:


The time control is 40 moves in 90 minutes, then 30 minutes to finish, plus a 30 second increment from the start of the game.

All games start at 15:00 local time (13:00 UTC). More information and live game coverage can be found at the official website.

To read more, please visit or click here or official website.

No comments:

Post a Comment