Tuesday, September 7, 2010

GM Cao Sang Is Winner of DAT Malaysian Open 2010!

7 September 2010, Kuala Lumpur – GM Cao Sang is proclaimed the Dato’ Arthur Tan Malaysian Open Chess Champion for 2010! Cao Sang had 7.0 pts and 54 tie break points.

In second place is GM Zhou Weiqi of China who also had 7.0 pts and 52.5 tie-break points, and in third is IM Sethuraman S P of India with 7.0 points and 51.0 tie-break points. The top seed from India, GM Gupta Abhijeet fell to fourth placing with 6.5 pts.

Eight players were in the 6.5 points category that include GM Gupta, IM Nguyen VH, GM Wen Yang , IM Swayangsu,  Wan Yunguo of China, GM Smerdon David from Australia, IM Gao Rui of China, and GM Xu Jun of China.


Round 9 results shown below.


On the side: IM Jimmy Liew of Malaysia lost to GM Marat of Uzbekistan, Ronnie Lim beat IM Mok Tze Meng. GM Ziaur Rahman lost to GM Wang Li of China, GM Murshed Niaz of Bangladesh won agains GM Arun Prasad S of India, Ian Udani lost to WGM Huang Qian of China, GM Schebler Gerhard of Germany lost to FM Mahmud Syarif of Indonesia.

Besides congratulating the winners, news has spread that this year’s edition of the Malaysian Chess Festival might be the last! If so, then fireyrook would like to wish farewell to all contestants and sponsors who made this year’s Malaysian Chess Festival 2010 a wonderful chess event and spectacular success!

Let’s hope a new white knight will take up the shoes of Dato’ Tan Chin Nam who has announced his retirement from chess in a dinner during this year’s chess festival. You are sadly going to be missed very much by the Malaysian chess fraternity!

No comments:

Post a Comment